Skip to content

Sunday Morning

December 14, 2014

A few days ago a dear friend – always busy, always on the go, always doing more for others than for herself – in a small fit of exasperation, mentioned that she would like just one day to sleep in.  She mentioned that she felt bad even saying that knowing that I have to get up stupid early in order to meet with my 5am clients.

For me, though, it is not about sleeping in.  Yes I enjoy not having to wake up to an alarm and rolling out of bed whenever I feel like it.  More than that, however, I like the days when I wake up and don’t have anywhere to be.

My calendar is clear.

My day is wide open.

It is the best way to start a day.

This morning, however, I woke up to my alarm.  Got to work feeding Sadie, letting her out, and then cooking my breakfast.  I made myself one cup of coffee in the Keurig and took a few minutes catching up on emails and Facebook.

Then, it was time to start getting ready.  Brush the teeth, wash the face — no shower as the plan was to run on the treadmill once the PT session was over.

And then guess what happened.

“ding ding” My phone goes off alerting me to a text message.

Could it be?

Yes it is!  My client texting asking to reschedule for later this week.

Halleluiah!

Now, granted, if I don’t work I don’t get paid, but I really just wanted to stay around the house this morning.  I have coffee to drink, a Christmas tree to enjoy, an amazingly soft and cozy blanket to lounge under, and an episode of The Biggest Loser to catch up on.

So that’s exactly what I did.  I made an entire pot of coffee, cued up the DVR, and got myself settled under my new blanket:

IMG_4753

So no, I didn’t get to sleep in today and yes,  I still had to wake up to an alarm but I really can’t complain.  I’ve got no where to be and that is just fine with me!

———-

I’ve recently set myself up with an Instagram account (runitoutak) ….. I know, I’m always a few years behind the times!  I have been posting a lot of pictures of the workouts I have been planning for my Cross Training classes and have been getting a lot of positive response.  I wanted to share some of those workouts with you guys, so here are a few.

 This first one is one of my favorites to do not only with a big class but with my clients as well:

IMG_4601

After the warm up and some strength work, the class did 3 rounds of each circuit.  As you can see, each circuit has 3 different exercises and a rest period built in – each of which lasted 30 seconds.  Besides the allotted 30 second rest period, there is no rest between exercises.  The exercises are performed back to back so pretty much they are doing 1:30 sprint.  It’s not so bad the first time through but by rounds 2 and 3, people really are sweating and puffing.  I love it!

This next one is a pretty standard rep scheme:

IMG_4698

The warm up is made up of two exercises with one of those decreasing reps, while the other is increasing in reps.  As for the workout, we did 4 different circuits with 3 different rounds of each; the first round is 21 reps of each exercise, then 15 reps, then 9.  In between each circuit they were on the treadmills doing 2 rounds of 30 second jog/30 second sprint.  It was another great workout!

And here is the last one I have to share for today:

IMG_4721

The warmup was Tabata style on the treadmill – 20 seconds sprint/10 seconds rest at the above mentioned inclines.  Then the class got to work doing another favorite of mine.  EMOM stands for Every Minute On the Minute so at the top of every minute, they had to complete that exercise with any remaining time in that minute being rest.  At the top of the next minute, they were on to the next exercise and so on.  They did 3 rounds of each which equaled 9 minute circuits.  The class seemed to really like this one!

As always, questions and feedback are welcome.  I’d love to hear from you guys!

Happy Sunday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

