Skip to content

A Texas Thanksgiving

December 10, 2014

Hey guys!

If you are anything like me, you are in a whirlwind of all things holidays.  There is wrapping paper all over the house, a wreath on the door, and Christmas movies playing every chance I get!  I am also making mental notes of all the things that I want to bake over the next few weeks.  What is it about the holidays that puts me into full Martha Stewart mode?  I don’t know but I can’t get enough of it!

Last weekend we set up my parents Christmas tree and last night, Joe and I picked out our own tree and brought it home.  We are real tree people….it is all about that Christmas tree smell.  Am I right? Our tree has yet to be decorated but it is set up and already the house smells just like Christmas should smell.

Over Thanksgiving, Joe and I were out of town spending it with his family in Texas.  This was my first Thanksgiving away from my family (insert your eye rolls here) and it was, in truth, a little hard for me.  I am very much into family traditions especially when it comes to the holidays so not watching the Macy’s parade under a blanket while sipping coffee on my recliner or discussing the dog show with my mom were one of the several things that I missed doing.

That being said, it was a very nice Thanksgiving with Joe’s side of the family.  The company was warm and inviting, the food was delicious, and I even got to spend some time outdoors without a jacket on (that’s a big deal for this cold-hating Alaskan).I know that Joe misses his family very much so being with them for even a few days was special to him, so therefore important to me.

Though we were visiting family in Texas we stayed on family property, just outside of Texas, in Oklahoma.  I am certain that I have mentioned this before, but Joe’s aunt and uncle own 800+ acres of land in Oklahoma with a “cabin” on the property.  And by “cabin” I mean 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, amazing deck, wifi and cable, and enough 4 wheelers and land to go exploring every day.

IMG_4575

Roughing it, I know.

For me, one of the best parts is that the driveway – from gate to gate – is exactly 1/2 mile which makes it very easy for me to keep track of mileage while I am getting a workout in.

IMG_4564

I worked out every day that we were gone (including travel days which can be tricky) and did some variety of running, circuit workouts (I always travel with a jump rope and my handy-dandy gymboss interval timer), and some core mixed in to keep things interesting.

Wait for it……..

IMG_4570

WORKOUT SELFIE!!

It’s time for me to sign off — I have some meal planning to do and I have got to get a battle plan together for this years Christmas shopping….only 15 more days until Christmas .  Whuuuuuuttt???

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

