Skip to content

So This Happened….

November 1, 2014

IMG_4402

I woke up to this scene early one recent morning.  Every year, as the temperature drops and the clouds begin to drop low among the mountains heavy with snow, us Alaskan’s just know the inevitable is coming.

Winter hangs heavy on the air until one day you wake up and the beautiful fall colors have been replaced with stark white.

Every year, even though I know it’s coming, I am still a little surprised and saddened by the first snow fall.  I am always racked with a smidgen of guilt about not doing enough during our brief, yet amazing summers.

I should have hiked more.

I should have biked more.

I should have run more outside.

I should have spent more time under the sun.

I am not at all a winter person.  When not at work, I spend the long winter months holed up in my house complaining about the cold.  Joe likes to say that I am in a bad mood for the 7 or so months of winter.  I should probably apologize about that one of these days

My biggest regret is always the fact that I didn’t run outdoors as much as I would have liked to.  The snow begins to fly and I start verbally kicking myself for the days that I wasted on the treadmill when I could have been out in the fresh air.

This happens every year and every year, when the ground begins to freeze, I proclaim that come summer this year is going to be different!

I am going to hit the pavement, soak up the sun, fill my lungs with clean air.  I am going to get back to the time when running was less work and more ‘play.’

I am not going to worry so much about mileage or pace.  I am going to listen to my body and run as long or as short as I want.  I will stop when I want.  Walk breaks will be okay.

Perhaps this is wishful thinking.  Perhaps, when it starts to warm up outside, I will continue to plug myself into the treadmill and zombie-run while watching the Today show.

Perhaps.

I want to think that this summer is going to be different and with this many months out, I am thinking that it is a possibility.

Now, I just have to wait out the winter, have patience until the snow has all melted away, and get myself back out there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

