Skip to content

This Just In……

September 25, 2014
tags: ,

……I absolutely SUCK at CrossFit!

 

Let me take a few deep breaths and then I will come back and explain.

…….

And, I’m back.

Ok, before I get into the ranting and raving that is percolating just under the surface, let me be the first to say that I have a love-love relationship with CrossFit.  I love the workouts, I love the community, I love watching it on TV, I love talking about it, I love CrossFit.

However, on an almost daily basis I am oh-so-rudely reminded just how terrible I am at it.  9 workouts out of 10, I am the last one to finish — when everyone is high-fiving and writing up their scores, I am still finishing my last round.

When everyone is lifting the prescribed weight, I am struggling hefting a much lighter bar.

My stars, it is so very frustrating.

When I first started going to CrossFit earlier this year, I guess I assumed I was stronger than I really am.  I figured I would be able to, for the most part, keep up with the rest of class during not only the WOD but during the strength/oly lifting as well.

Boy was in for a rude awakening!

I thought I was strong but holy hell, these people are amazingly strong athletes and I am in awe of them on a regular basis.

Now I know I shouldn’t be competitive against anyone other than myself — and I try, really really try, not to compare myself to others.  But c’mon!! I can’t keep myself from looking around the gym and being a wee bit envious of those that are absolutely killing the WOD.

With all that being said, I can tell I am getting stronger.

I can tell that my endurance has reached a new level.

I can not only see the difference in the mirror but I can feel it with every workout that I tackle.

I am going to continue to struggle my way to the end of every WOD, but with the struggle ultimately comes growth.  Come success.  Comes a contentment knowing that what now may seem like an impossible feat, will eventually be nothing more than a brief challenge that I know wholeheartedly am ready to face.

It’s all part of the journey, right?

CFlove2source

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

