Skip to content

Heck of a week!

November 10, 2013

Hey pals and gals.  According to my calculations, it has been exactly 1 week since my last post!

Shameful, I know.

You can probably discern, from the title of this post, that it was a bit of a hectic week for me.  Using Friday as an example, I did the math and realized that I left the house super early in the morning and didn’t get back home until 16 hours later!!

Much of last week was packed full with work, workouts, training for work, and even some sleep.  All this is to explain (in a rather lame fashion) why I have been MIA this week.

I have lots of workouts and meals to share but rather than give you a day-by-day, play-by-play here are a few highlights from the week:

Workouts:

4515

I did this workout with a friend of mine earlier in the week and by the time we were done, we were both a sweaty mess.  What killed us was the Bench Hops + Burpees — pretty much you do a lateral jump over a bench (or step), drop into a burpee, and repeat on the other side.

I am back to subbing the “Wake Up Call” class on Tuesday and Thursday mornings while the instructor is off getting hitched!  My first class with them was Thursday and after a high intensity cardio warm up, we did exercises that focused on chest, upper back, and legs.  Lots. Of. Legs!!

It was a fun class and I really enjoyed teaching it again.  I have a whole months worth of classes to teach so I hope I can keep it fresh and interesting for them!

My Cross Training Boot Camp class on Saturday was packed!!  There were lots of new faces in the crowd which is always nice to see — I sure hope they continue to come back.

I set up a huge circuit for them which included suicide drills, bag drag, wall sit, sideways plank walks, lunges, speed ladder and a whole heap of other stations.  The class was over before I knew it and everyone was leaving sweaty and smiling!

Yesterday’s workout was a 6 mile run (56:20) that actually felt pretty good! To make the time move a little faster I did sprint intervals during miles 2, 4, and 6 and ran at a steady 6.0 pace for the other 3 miles.

Today’s workout came after a few Sunday morning clients.  Joe joined me at the gym right around 11am where we completed 3 rounds of a full body circuit.  It was a nice, laid-back workout.

The Eats

I finally got around to trying out the roasted chickpea recipes I have been seeing all over Pinterest:

IMG_2874

I drained and rinsed one can of chick peas, topped them with olive oil, salt, pepper, and a variety of other spices, and roasted them in a 400 degree oven for about 30 minutes.

They turned out pretty good — I have been munching on them these last few days and I think I will even add them to my lunch salads these next few days.

Another meal item of note was this lunch that I threw together out of leftovers in the fridge:

IMG_2882

Leftover salsa chicken in lettuce wraps

This shredded salsa chicken is a staple in our house.  It is so easy and so delicious it is always a winner.  In a crockpot, add 4-6 chicken breasts, one packet of taco seasoning, one jar of salsa, and any other spices you see fit.  Cook on low for 8 hours, shred and eat.  On top of the massive amount of food you get out of this recipe, the selling point for me is how versatile it is.

Sometime we eat these sloppy joe style on a bun; other times we make tacos out of them with lettuce, sour cream, and cheese inside a tortilla; still other times we eat it as is with a side of steamed veggies.

This time, though, I had a stroke of genius and scooped the chicken into romaine lettuce leaves and wrapped them up like a burrito.  It was a delicious and low-calorie alternative to buns or flour tortillas.

I also had a rather large salad to round out the meal:

IMG_2887

YUMM!

We will be back to our regularly schedule ‘programming’ starting tomorrow seeing as how my schedule is looking to be much less hectic.  You know I love sharing my workouts with you guys so be sure to keep coming back!

Thursday was Joe’s b-day, the big 3-0!  We are celebrating tonight at my parents house with a big dinner as well as cake and presents.  The snow is coming down something fierce out there so I think we should leave sooner rather than later.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

