Skip to content

Mama Needs A New Pair of Shoes

October 22, 2013

The time has come, yet again, where I go on the hunt for a new pair of workout shoes.

IMG_2780

The last few months, I have made several stops into Sports Authority in hopes of finding exactly what I am looking for – light weight, minimalist, flexible, good for running and circuit training, and well, you know, cute.

I am a die-hard Nike Free Run 2’s fan but I am open to something new.  I tried several pairs on yesterday and ended up gravitating back to the Nike Free Runs.  As the newer versions were released, I found that they were too stiff and clunky for my liking.  However, I did try on some Free Run 5’s and I think I like them.

I wandered over to the Nike ID website where you can design your own shoes and I came up with this beauty:

Screen Shot 2013-10-22 at 3.41.08 PM

I am not 100% sold on these shoes but they are definitely up there on the list.

The other shoes that I am looking at are the Reebok CrossFit Nano Speed’s

Screen Shot 2013-10-22 at 3.56.12 PM

Reebok states that these are the first CrossFit shoe that is also intended for runners.  Granted, I am no CrossFitter (not yet….some day hopefully) but the workouts that I do are similar in style and intensity.  That coupled with the mileage and the sprint intervals that I do on a regular basis, this sounds like the perfect shoe for me.

Unfortunately these shoes are no where to be found here in Anchorage (one of the many joys of living in Alaska….not a lot of stores) so I would have to buy these without trying them on first.  This always makes me a little nervous so I hope, if I do buy them, that Reebok has a good return policy!!

Now That’s What I Call Dinner

Check it out:

IMG_2794

Mmmm, my mouth is watering just looking at this picture!!  We have had an unseasonally warm October — well, warm for Anchorage so in the 40’s and low 50’s — so we took advantage of the lack of frost and snow and decided to grill last nights dinner.

As usual, Joe was in charge of the meat (hey-o!) and I was in charge of the veggies.  After washing and snapping the ends off of the asparagus, I seasoned them with salt, pepper, garlic, and onion flakes.  I topped it all off with a few small pats of butter (the real stuff!) and some fresh squeezed lemon.

IMG_2785

I then made a little grilling packet and off to the grill they went:

IMG_2787

Now, the key to this meal….what really set it off the chain….was this little bottle of miracles right here:

IMG_2790

This ain’t your ordinary, run of the mill, balsamic vinegar, oh no!  Joe came across this high quality vinegar at Oil & Vinegar which sells (you guessed it) oil and vinegar.  They provide samples of everything and, upon tasting this, we knew we had to have it!!

It is super thick, almost like syrup, and has a wonderful flavor that is all vinegar (i love vinegar) without the after bite that makes your mouth pucker.

After the steaks were cooked — and still hot from the grill — we topped them with some blue cheese crumbles and a drizzling of the vinegar and, let me tell you, it was one of the best steaks I have ever eaten.  It was so good, it trumped most steaks I have eaten in fancy restaurants.

Yup, that good!

Alright, enough talk about food.  The Biggest Loser is on and I need to turn my attention to that.  Have a good evening, pals and gals!

Question:

Anyone out there have any experience with the Nike Free Run 5 or the Reebok CrossFit Nano Speed?  Are there other shoes out there that I should be considering?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

