Skip to content

An odd start to the day & a workout playlist

August 28, 2013

Yesterday I was all out of sorts.

It all started Monday night when I crawled into bed around 9pm.  When I have 5am clients, I set my alarm for 3am (i know, it’s wacky!) so that I have enough time to eat breakfast, watch some news, and enjoy a cup of coffee.  So, Monday night was nothing new — alarm was set for 3am.

For whatever reason, I woke up at 11:30pm and was so disoriented that I thought it was 3am.  Have you ever had one of those strange wake ups where you can’t for the life of you, understand the numbers on the clock?  Yeah, me too.  No amount of staring at the clock could make the numbers make sense, so out of bed I got.

By the time I realized what was amiss, I was already comfortably sitting in the recliner in the living room.  For some reason, in my sleep-deprived brain, it just made sense to sleep the rest of the night on the recliner.  Let me be the first to tell you, many hours of tossing, turning and even moving over to the couch does not equal a restful slumber.

When it was ‘for reals’ 3am I got off the couch and tried to go about my day.  The lack of sleep really hit me part way through the Wake Up Call class that I was subbing — all the cardio we did really caught up to me, so when it was time for my Cross Training Boot Camp, I could have fallen asleep standing up.

Thank goodness I had a few hours in the middle of the day where I was able to go back home and get some serious napping done before I had a handful of evening clients.

Yesterday was such an odd day.

Yesterday’s Workouts:

My first workout of the day was the Wake Up Call class that I not only taught but participated in.  We started off with lots of cardio and plyos and then quickly followed that up with a ton of shoulders and legs.  It was a tough class!

Typically, after I am done with my morning classes and clients, I get my own workout done before heading home for a shower.  I knew, though, as sadness came over me when I started to change into my workout clothes, that any workout that I attempted would be a waste.  I packed up my things and headed home.

Once home, I gave Sadie a quick pat on the head and then put myself back in bed.  I slept for many, many hours waking only to eat lunch.  Thinking back on it now, it seems like such a waste of an afternoon but I do know from vast experience that a lack of sleep leads to half-assed workouts and incredibly poor food choices.

My second workout came after my last client for the evening and was well worth the wait.  Here is what I did:

runsprintjump

This circuit took me less than 30 minutes to complete and was actually a lot of fun!

Today:

I had some early morning clients and then before I knew it, it was time for me to teach my first Strength & Conditioning class.  I decided to do the class also and lead them through several sets of bicep curls, hammer curls, tricep extensions, and dips just to name a few.  We also did some goblet squats, lunges, and a whole-hell-of-a-lot of calf raises.  We finished up the hour long class with lots of core exercises.  My arms and my calves were burning by the end of class!

I got lots of positive feedback by the members that took the class and I have some ideas on the direction that I want to take the class.

So, my first workout of the day was the Strength and Conditioning class and then I followed that up with 45 minutes of cardio split up between the stationary bike, the treadmill, and the step mill.

It was a sweaty morning, but I felt awesome leaving the gym.

Workout Playlist:

With the Wake Up Call class that I have been subbing, I have been putting together many workout playlists for the class.  Here is my favorite one so far:

Screen Shot 2013-08-28 at 2.08.04 PM

I cannot seem to get enough of JT’s Sexy Back (I know, I am a many years behind the times) and Robin Thicke’s Blurred Lines!! Gotta love music that makes you want to move.

Speaking of workout playlists, I need to spend a little time on iTunes putting together a playlist for tomorrow mornings class.

Enjoy your Wednesday, friends!

 

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

