Skip to content

Missing the mileage

July 8, 2013

Our internet has been less than spotty these last few days — it (and our cable tv) will cut out, seemingly on a whim, causing great frustration and destructive tendencies on my part!  One plus side though, without all the distractions yesterday, I got a whole heap of a lot of stuff done yesterday!! Perhaps unplugged Sunday’s should be the norm.

Nah, not likely!!

For several weeks now I have gone to bed telling myself that the next morning I would be lacing up and heading out the door.  Without fail, I wake up and manage to talk myself out of that morning run;

“It looks like it might rain”

“i did a lot of dead lifts yesterday”

“it is probably cold out there”

“one more cup of hot coffee would be oh so nice”

Several weeks of this and I have barely put any mileage on these legs lately.

I think I miss it.  I think I do.

I have gone through this phase before and always manage, eventually, to get back in the groove.

Yesterday’s Workout

I figured I wouldn’t force things so I set out to run 3 miles on the treadmill.  I completed those 3 miles in 26:45 and felt pretty damn good about them.  I then spent 15 minutes on the step mill where I got all sorts of sweaty!

It was a decent cardio workout only made better by a long bike ride with Joe and Sadie as soon as I got home.

The rest of yesterday was spent doing work around the house — going through piles of papers, getting rid of clutter, selecting items to donate/sell (i love to purge!) — as well as getting some wedding to-do’s done.  I also had a client in the afternoon so I got out of the house for a short time.

One of my tasks yesterday was to tackle a growing pile of magazines.  I can’t bring myself to throw them out without at least skimming them first so I dove into some of the wedding magazines that I secretly love pouring over.  Seeing as how I have my dress purchased and in the midst of alterations I spent little time checking our the dresses being advertized.  I did, however, start to notice a large number of strange poses and facial expressions in the dress ads that made me think, “wtf?”  I would like to share a few with you all:

IMG_2133

“where the hell is my other strap?”

IMG_2134

mouth breather

IMG_2131

sniff test

And by far my favorite:

IMG_2130

“but i don’t wanna get married!!”

*pout*

Another great accomplishment of the day yesterday was finally facing the stack of clothes that were in serious need of patching and alterations.  I have been adding to this pile for over a year now and it was made up of pants that needed to be hemmed, tank tops whose straps were too long, pants that I ordered way too long….

So I broke out the sewing machine and got my Martha Stewart on:

IMG_2135

This pile of clothes has been haunting me for quite some time so I am really glad to gotten them done.  Pat on the back for me!

Yesterday’s Dinner

After a long day of chores and more chores what other way should you finish the day than with a healthy and delicious dinner:

IMG_2139

Blow-you-face-off-it’s-so-amazing-salmon and roasted brussell sprouts and carrots!  I roasted these vegetables in coconut oil which not only gave a subtle sweet and nuttiness to the veggies, but the house smelled so good!

Alright, now we are mostly caught up.  I have a post planned for tonight which will include my circuit workout from this morning.  Ta ta until then!

Question ‘o’ The Day:

When you fall out of your groove (whether it be in your workouts, your hobbies, your work, etc.) how do you get yourself back on track?  Please comment.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 8, 2013 8:25 am

    Buhahahah! The sniff test is the funniest! LOL!

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

