Skip to content

Something fishy….

July 4, 2013

Happy 4th of July friends and a very Happy Birthday to my mom!!  Being a 4th of July baby, she likes to inform us that the country celebrates her birth every year with parades and fireworks.

Yes mother, of course they do.

I have had several late nights these last few days, so here is a little recap of what has been going on in my world.

Tuesday

I didn’t have a 5am client that morning, so I arrived at the gym a little before 6am for the Wake Up Call class.  The class that I subbed Wednesday night is the same as this class (only the name is different) so I really wanted to make sure that I made it to today’s class to make sure I knew what I was doing.

After class was over, I did a quick change into my work clothes and prepped for my cross training boot camp.  I had 3 new people in class this morning which was pretty exciting and lucky (or unlucky) for them, it was a tough-ie:

302010

After class was over I changed back into my sweaty workout clothes and completed the same workout — like I said, it was rough!

These early mornings are really starting to catch up with me so I have been supplementing with more coffee than usual:

IMG_2096

Thank goodness for the Keurig at work!  And yes, they share my love for Disney mugs!

After work, I headed over to my bosses house to help process about 250 pounds of salmon that he received from a friend of his.

IMG_2103

He was the filet person and I was the bagger and sealer.  We made it through 2 boxes out of 5 and then called it a night.

IMG_2104

My reward for helping was a couple pounds of the freshest salmon I think I have ever had!

IMG_2105

One box of five

The salmon we were processing was pulled out of the ocean not 24 hours before and had never been frozen.  Joe and I cooked up one of our filets for dinner with asparagus and roasted sweet potatoes:

IMG_2107

Holy buckets!! Such a great meal!!

Wednesday

I was at the gym by 5am to train a client and then to get my own work out done.  I woke up very sore and with legs that felt like lead so I knew a light workout was exactly what I needed.  I complete 30 minutes of cardio that went like this:

10 minutes step mill

10 minutes running

10 minutes incline walking

I also knew that I was going to be teaching – and participating in – a very high energy, intense class later in the day so I figured going easy in the morning was OK.

As the day grew on I got increasingly more nervous about teaching this class —  I spent a lot of time prepping music and the workout itself in hopes of guaranteeing a successful class.  I had about 15 people show up ready for a good workout and I wanted to make sure they got it.

Once I started the music and got going with my routine, I was in the zone.  The class moved along quickly and I was drenched with sweat by the time we were done.  We started off with lots of standing cardio and moved quickly into arms, shoulders, legs, and abs.  After a quick stretch to cool down, time was up.

I got a round of applause and lots of thank yous and compliments by the class — it was such a relief!!  I even had one nice lady tell me that I should teach my own classes!!  Quite the confidence booster!!

I left the gym on cloud nine and met Joe to buy his tuxedo and accessories.  We are checking things off that wedding list, I tell you what!

We followed that up with some more fish processing at my bosses house.  It has been a fishy couple of days!!

Today!

It was an early morning for me — I had a 5am client, my workout, and then an 8am client (well, clients — there were 2 of them).

My workout started off on the treadmill where I completed 30 minutes of incline walking and running:

runwalk

I must have been really tired this morning because not only did I have a hard time getting through my 30 minutes on the treadmill, I really really did not want to complete the rest of my workout.

But.

I did anyways.

It was slow going and lacked a bit of enthusiasm but I still got it done.  Here is what I did:

fireworks

This is a 4 round circuit workout:

Round 1: 60 seconds of each exercise

Round 2: 45 seconds of each exercise

Rounds 3: 30 seconds of each exercise

Rounds 4: 15 seconds of each exercise

By the time I was done working out, I was ready for a snack.  Today I packed a new type of bar as well as some cherries that we received in our Full Circle Farm Box:

IMG_2116

The bar was absolutely delicious and tasted much like a fruit roll up from my childhood lunch box.  With minimal ingredients, no preservatives, and only 100 calories I am sold!  I am going to have to stockpile me some more of these.

After getting back home from work, they day has been pretty laid back.  I have done some laundry, cleaned up around the house, lazily caught up one some TV shows with Joe, and put together my mom’s birthday present:

IMG_2120

This flag draped my Granddad’s  – my mom’s Dad – coffin and has been sitting in a plastic bag ever since his funeral several years ago.  My brother thought it would be a great birthday present to get it framed for her (especially since she her birthday is on the 4th of July).

IMG_2119

Yeah, she is probably going to cry.  🙂

Well, I think this post has been quite long enough don’t you?

I hope you all have a safe and happy Independence Day!

 

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

