Skip to content

Slow Sunday

May 19, 2013

The day started rather slow for me.  It was one of those Sundays where you get up somewhat early, have some coffee and breakfast, and then crawl back into bed and fall asleep.  Mmmmmm…sleep.

Workout

Needless to say, I didn’t make it to the gym bright and early like I typically like to so by the time I got there and was ready to run the 5 miles I had planned, I was starting to get hungry again.  These hunger pangs made for a very grumpy 5 miles on the treadmill.  At around mile 3 I was ready to throw in the towel but I knew that I needed to finish if I am going to be ready for my upcoming 12k.

I begrudgingly finished the 5 miles (at a 1% incline) in 48:08.  It was a crap-tastic run but I am glad that I at least finished.

Lunch

I have been wanting to drag Joe to a local hole-in-the-wall restaurant, Acai Alaska, for quite some time and today I got my chance.  I can’t really explain what it is that they serve except to say that it is a bowl full of goodness:

Before:

IMG_1824

During:

IMG_1826

After:

IMG_1828

The bowl that I ordered is the Mauna Kea which includes fresh fruit, hemp seed, flax seed, goji berries (love these!), coconut shavings, flax granola, chocolate covered almonds, macadamia nuts, and walnuts.

You get to choose what base you want – basically the mixture that all the above is piled on – and I always choose the Nutty Heaven which is a blend of peanut butter (are you surprised?), almond milk, and fresh fruit.

Because there are so many different things in the bowl, each bite is different from the one before.  I really wish there were more locations because I would eat here at least once a week if I was closer.  Now that I think of it, maybe it’s a good thing they are on the opposite side of town!!

With full bellies (the bowls are really filling) we ran a few errands once of which included hitting up the pet store for some items for this mutt:

IMG_1830

typical female — loves to shop!

I really need to sign off and get myself to bed — I have a 6 hour drive to Valdez, AK and I need to be as rested and alert as I can be.  Goodnight!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

