Skip to content

Back On The Run

May 15, 2013

Dinner – Last Night

Joe had dinner plans with friends last night and knowing I wasn’t going to be home until late, he brought home a salad for me.  I wasn’t planning on taking pictures of last nights dinner but half way through the salad I just had to share — it was f-ing amazing!!

IMG_1790

romaine lettuce, sauteed onions, bell peppers, blue cheese, tomatoes, and steak

The blue cheese dressing was super thick (read:calories) so instead of dumping it on the salad, I dipped every few bites.  This salad was very hearty and I could probably eat it everyday, 3 meals a day!!

Breakfast

I have been wanting to try some of the breakfast quinoa recipes I have been stumbling across lately so, with the leftover quinoa from Monday’s lunch, I heated up a little over 1/4 of a cup of the quinoa and topped it with brown sugar, pecans, strawberries, ground flax seed, and a splash of rice milk:

IMG_1791

We often have leftover quinoa from meals so this is going to be a good way to keep it from going to waste.  Sometime soon, I am going to to try some of the baked or slow cooker quinoa breakfast recipes — I will be sure to share!

Today’s Workout

The outdoors were calling me this morning so I got suited up for my first outdoor run (in Alaska).  Sadie woke up with lots of energy this morning so I took her with me in hopes of wearing her out (it didn’t work by the way):

IMG_1798

my running buddy!

I had to bribe her with a stick to get her to look at me for that picture.  Otherwise this is what I got:

IMG_1796

how rude!

I hit the road with the idea that I was going to run 2 miles out and 2 miles back for a total of 4 miles.  At the 2 mile mark though, I realized going 1/2 a mile more in each direction was nothing so I ended up running 5 – kindof slow – miles (50:31).

Sadie isn’t necessarily the easiest mutt to run with.  I envy those cheeky schmucks who can somehow get their dogs to run beside them, not darting off into the woods or trying to chase down a passing bicyclist.

Sadie sees a passing cyclist as a challenge she must accept and tries to go tearing off after them like they were the last yummy chummy on earth!  This makes running at a steady pace rather difficult.

Though today’s run was slow and some what cold, it was nice to be out on the trail again getting reacquainted.  Seeing my usual bends and turns in the path, the bridges and streams that I have run over hundreds of times, the dreaded up hills and the relieving down hills — it was comforting to see these old “friends”again.

A lot can change over the winter, though, so I was discovering lots of new features along the way — new bumps and cracks where the ground has shifted, trees that didn’t survive the harsh winter and have taken their new place much closer to the ground.  These new features are now part of the landscape and I know that I will be seeing them often.

Lunch

By the time I got home at lunch time, I was pretty ravenous.  We didn’t have any lettuce so my usual salad was not going to happen.  I ended up making some kale chips in the oven to accompany the 1/2 sandwich I planned on having:

IMG_1799

Before

400 degree oven.  Olive oil, salt, pepper, and onion flakes.  Bake for 20 minutes and done.

IMG_1802

After

They were a nice side to my lunch:

IMG_1804

4am is going to be here before I know it so it is time for me to sign off, pack my gym bag, and crawl into bed.

Goodnight!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

