Skip to content

Kauai: Today’s Workout, Fresh Fruit Salad, and Zip Lining!

May 8, 2013

Welcome to the middle of the work week!

Workout — May 8, 2013

An early morning run was on the docket today so right around 6:45am I laced up my running shoes and headed out the door.  I ran a total of 3 miles (27:45) — some of the time was spent running on the grass while the other part of the run I was on the pavement running around the resort.  It was a pretty decent run and I am happy with how I did.

Fruit Salad

Desperately wanting to take advantage of all the fresh fruit we have available to us, we have been buying up fruit like it is going out of style!!  I chopped up a bunch of apples, bananas, grapes, and strawberries and threw them together with some blueberries and blackberries.  I topped everything with fresh squeezed lime juice, honey, and fresh mint (which smelled so good!).  Voila!  Instant fresh fruit salad:

IMG_1706

I typically get a hankering for this fruit salad when summer starts to make it’s appearance — I guess the beautiful weather here in Kauai will do just fine!

Zip Lining

One Word:  AMAZING!

I have never been zip lining before but it has always been something that I have wanted to do!!  I got my chance today when we went out with Kauai Backcountry Adventures and spent 3 hours “zipping” down a canyon and across beautiful former plantation lands.  The experience was truly one of a kind and I highly recommend if you are ever in Kauai you check this company out.

They have exclusive access to these 17,o00 acres of otherwise inaccessible canyons and let me be the first to tell you, the view is breath taking:

IMG_1709

The course consists of 7 different lines – depending on the weather and your size, you are advised to either walk, run, or step off of the platform.  After the first two runs, I was more than happy to take a running leap off the the platform and zip my way down the canyon.  For the last two lines, we were told to “freestyle” it so I tried out some fancy maneuvers the last one being me, upside-down, feet on the straps that held my harness to the line, and no hands.  Apparently I looked a little like Spider man.

Here I am, “tackle out,”  before we headed out to the course:

IMG_1707

Oh, the inappropriate jokes were flying today!

We learned lots of interesting facts about the island while we were on our zip lining adventure like, did you know that there are very few native species of plants here on Kauai?  For a place that is known as The Garden Island, most of the plants on the island were imported.  Pretty interesting, I think.  Also, Kauai has been seen many, many times on the silver screen in such movies as Jurassic Park (I am such a dinosaur nerd so this one blew my socks off!), Raiders of the Lost Ark, and Blue Hawaii starring Elvis.

Even cooler, though, the valley that we were zip lining across was where much of the Ben Stiller movie, Tropic Thunder was filmed.  Our guides made sure to point out recognizable sites from the movie as we were making our way down.

Today was a great day and was something that I will never forget!

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

