Skip to content

April Goals: Week 1

April 8, 2013

Note: This post was intended to go up last night but somewhere, in the midst of writing, I passed out on the couch leaving it half written.  I have since gone back to make some updates and edits and then finished the post as I had intended to last night.  So,  here it is:

We got a bit of a late start to the day, yesterday.  It’s okay, though — it doesn’t hurt anything to sleep in every once in a while, right?

Workout — April 7, 2013

I didn’t get to the gym until around 4pm yesterday but when I did finally make it there, I was ready to get my sweat on!

I did 35 minutes of cardio on the step mill and treadmill:

steptread

Having a little time to kill before I had to be somewhere, I also did a quick plyo interval circuit that went a little something like this:

10:30

Let me be the first to tell you that 30 seconds of straight, non-stop Double Unders may not sound like a lot but it is tough!!  More than anything, my arms and shoulders get worn out trying to keep that rope turning fast.

April Goals Recap — Week 1

So, some what reluctantly, I threw together a handful of goals that I wanted to work towards this month.  At the end of the first week of April, here is a brief recap of how this week went in regards to my goals:

Goal 1: Try 1 new paleo-ish recipe per week

As I have said several times before, I do not follow a strict paleo way of eating.  I am, however, allergic to gluten (not a sensitivity or celiac) but it is an allergy that I tend to ignore for a variety of reasons one of which is because it is not all that serious of an allergy for me (i don’t need an epi-pen at the ready every time I am around a slice of bread).

Holy long sentence, Batman.

Anyways, Joe gave me a Paleo (which also happens to be gluten free) crock pot recipe book that I have been using quite a lot lately.  This weeks new recipe was BBQ Apple Chicken:

IMG_6824

Yum!  And, I have been eating these leftovers for several days now and it is still as delicious as the first day!

Goal 2: At least 5 days out of the week, be able to honestly say that I have eaten well and made wise food choices

Oh food, you truly are a friend and a foe.  I did good on this one this week.  Good, not great.  Monday and Tuesday nights, I was able to go to bed knowing that I had eaten wisely and consciously.  Wednesday, ugh.  Wednesday, Joe and I were at a friends house doing all things wedding and these gatherings always end up with lots of wine, cheese, crackers, and chocolate.  I got home that night completely over stuffed and uncomfortable.

Thursday and Friday were two more great days that I could add to my 5 day total.  Saturday wasn’t terrible but I did indulge a little in the evening.  That left me with Sunday as a last ditch effort to make it to 5 days of conscious eating.

Knowing that Sunday was going to make or break my 5 day goal, I did great all day long.  I was even able to resist sloppy joe’s and a plethora of treats at an evening meeting even though I had a rumbling tummy.  Knowing that I had a healthy dinner to look forward to once I got home really helped me turn my back on the snacks.

Soon after, though, I ran into some trouble.  I arrived home a little before 8pm and knowing that dinner was a little ways off, pulled out a tray of veggies to munch on.  I knew that a few handfuls of carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower were going to be enough to tide me over until dinner but at some point, my snack-attack brain took over and a few handfuls of veggies turned into a few handfuls of veggies and some crackers.  This then turned into a few handfuls of veggies, some crackers, and a few bites of cheese.

I didn’t go totally over board, but I know that I would have been satisfied with just the vegetables if I had waited it out long enough.

Sigh — still have so much to learn.

So, I guess out of a perfect score of 5 (for 5 days of good eating) i give myself a 4.5.

Goal 3: No lazy workouts, not one –  why waste the time if I am not going to give it 110%

I would have to say that I did really well with this one!   Before even heading to the gym, I knew that this goal was in place as a challenge to myself and I was going to have to work really hard to not zone out and go through the motions of working out.  I give myself an A+ gold star on this goals for this week.

All in all, it was a pretty successful week in regards to the goals that I set for myself.  Even having these 3 goals haunting the back of my mind kept me in check all week long.

I could get used to this accountability!

Alright, I can finally hit “publish” on  this post and now, it’s gym time!

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

