Skip to content

sneeze-cough

February 27, 2013

It would appear that I have caught a lovely little cold from my trip a few days ago.  Oh the joys of circulated airplane air.  Ah well.

Dinner — 2.26.2013

It was a late night for me last night, thankfully Joe was on top of dinner because I was super hungry by the time I got home:

IMG_6692Steak, broccoli, and roasted sweet potatoes

This steak, which Joe has been marinating for several days now, was one of the best steaks I have ever had!!  I don’t know what sort of black magic Joe did to this steak but is was very juicy and full of flavor.

This meal also made for excellent leftovers which I had for lunch today.

Workout — 2.27.2013

After an early morning trip to the grocery store (we were seriously in need of some fresh produce) I made my way to the gym.  Typically, on the days between cross training class, I will spend about an hour plugging away on a variety of cardio machines.  Usually, I am zoned out with a book, not really focusing on pushing myself every second of my workout.  Most days, I am OK with this because days like those are my ‘light days’ and I usually look forward to them.

Today was different though, I woke up wanting more out of my workout.  I warmed up with 20 minutes on the stationary bike and as soon as I was done there, I hopped onto the treadmill where I completed this 20 minute speed workout:

20minutespeed

This cold seems to be making it’s way to my chest which made this 20 minute run hard for me.  I knew I should have taken a hit from my inhaler before I started but I didn’t want to mess with it.  Either way, I got through it and I am glad that I got a good run in today.

After I was done with this 40 minutes of cardio, I tackled this quick, but killer, circuit:

dontstop

My favorite part about circuit workouts is that you just have to keep moving until you are done.  The exercises and reps are constantly changing so there is no time to get bored.  Just keep moving!

I was feeling really strong today and made it through all of my pull ups without stopping once — I was pretty happy about that.  I realize 5 reps is pretty minimal in the grand scheme of the pull ups universe but I was the one doing them and it was an accomplishment for me.

The Bear Complex is a combination of 5 exercises and you can find an example of it here.  I am big fan of he Bear Complex because it is a lot of lifting and squatting wrapped into one, muscle fatiguing, exercise.

This circuit went faster than I thought it would and I completed it in just under 12 minutes.

For my afternoon snack, I tried a shake sample that I received while in Idaho last weekend.  Visalus was one of the competition sponsors so they handed out to-go cups and shake samples to all the coaches who attended.

IMG_6696

I dug out my blender bottle from the back of the cabinet and mixed the shake with water.

IMG_6697

The shake was actually very tasty and it kept me satiated until it was time for lunch.

Please know that I am in no way affiliated with Visalus.  I received a free sample of their product and any opinions of that product are mine and mine alone.

I was able to work from home this morning and this was my work companion:

IMG_6701

She sat with me the entire time I was working at my computer.  Granted she was sleeping the whole time but I would like to think that she wanted to be by my side!

Time for me to hit the road — I have a gym full of kids waiting for me to run them into the ground.

Enjoy the rest of your day, friends!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

