Skip to content

Hello weekend.

February 1, 2013

Workout 2.1.2013

Thanks to last nights post, I knew that I had to stick to my announcement that I was going to get up and run 5 miles this morning.  So, after much procrastinating and putting it off, I finally got to the gym and started my workout.

I warmed up with 5 minutes of incline walking at a 4.0 pace.  It was during this 5 minutes that I realized how incredibly tight my hips were.  I did what I typically do and rewound the previous days workout in my head trying to figure out why I’m sore.  And then it hit me — 1 minute side shuffles at a 3.0 pace at a 15% incline X 9.  Yup, that would be the reason!

I started the run at a 6.0 pace and stayed there for the first 2.5 miles — I really needed these legs to wake up and loosen up.  After I got into the groove, it was a pretty good run (for treadmill standards) and I completed 5 miles in 47:23.  Certainly not my fastest pace but still a good run.

 

Dinner 2.1.2013

We received a head of cabbage in our latest Full Circle Farm box.  I am not the biggest fan of cabbage but I have been noticing some roasted cabbage recipes on Pinterest so I figured that that’s exactly what I would do.  I set the oven to 400 degrees, poured some olive oil on a baking sheet, and then cut the cabbage into wedges.

I them topped the cabbage wedges with some additional olive oil, minced garlic, salt, pepper, and onion flakes.  I roasted it for about 30 minutes and it turned out great!  I guess I will have to give cabbage a second chance.

In addition to the cabbage, I baked some beef wellingtons that we prepared at Alaska Dinner Factory and they were so good!  I am pleasantly surprised at how good these meals are every time we have them — the meals are full of flavor and all the ingredients are fresh.

IMG_6617

This was our last Alaska Dinner Factory meal so we are going to have to go back there some time this month and stock up our freezer with some more meals.

I am hoping to get to the gym early enough to get about 20 minutes of sprint intervals done before cross training class starts at 9am.  Depending on how worn out I am after class, I am hoping to get 20 minutes done on the step mill as well.  We’ll see though.

I plan on getting lots of studying done tomorrow as well as whipping this house into shape!  The clutter and stacks of paper are starting to close in on us so I am going to go through everything that has been piling up and show it whose boss.  It is going to be a productive day, I can already tell!

I hope you guys have a relaxing yet productive weekend as well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

