Skip to content

My fitness apps

January 22, 2013

Good evening, pals.

So guess who woke up with her grumpy pants on?  Yup, that would be me.  I was tired, I was sore, and I didn’t want to do anything but whine about it.  This is not a good way to start the day, let me tell you!

Workout 1.22.2013

I went to bed last night super excited for this mornings cross training class but by the time 5am rolled around, I didn’t want to have anything to do with it.  I managed to drag myself to the gym with 10 minutes to spare so I warmed up with some incline walking with the hope that that would stir me out of my sleep-deprived slump.

Nope, it just made for an even pissier me.

For class today we did another pyramid of 50, 40, 30, 20, 10 reps that consisted of 4 exercises (burpee box jumps, kettle bell swing, traveling plank rows + push ups, push press).  This was not shaping up to be a great workout day for me — I could already tell.

50 burpee box jumps is insane as it is but 50 +40 + 30 +20 +10 would have been down right cray cray!  (are the kids still saying that these days?) I managed to get through the 50-of-everything and the 40-of-everything and was just starting the 30-of-everything when time was up.  This still means, though, that I did 120 burpee box jumps!

My legs have been lead the entire rest of the day!!

Good news, though, I did manage to finally shake of the storm cloud that had been hovering over me for a good part of the day. I am still super exhausted and really, REALLY looking forward to getting some shut eye in the very near future.

Lunch 1.22.2013

I had a two-part lunch today.  Around 12:30pm, I had a salad that was topped with onions, red bell peppers, bean sprouts, carrot shavings, mandarin oranges, 1 hard boiled egg, and some blue cheese vinaigrette dressing.  As I was enjoying this tasty plate of veggies, I got a text from my boss asking if I wanted to try an asparagus, feta, and pesto baguette that she saw while buying bread at House of Bread (she is so good to me, I just love her).  I, for one, can’t say no to free food so she bought one for me and had it at work for me when I got there around 3pm.

IMG_1280

It wasn’t spectacular, but was still pretty good.  As a die-hard fan of asparagus, I was surprised that I didn’t like the asparagus in this — it seemed a little out of place.  Perhaps if it has been spinach or something else along those lines I would have enjoyed it more.  That being said, the bread and feta part were really good!  The bread was soft and chewy and the feta, well it’s cheese so not a whole lot can go wrong there!

My Fitness Apps

As I am sure many of you are, I am a huge fan of my smart phone.  It goes every where with me and I use it for so many things.  I figured I would share with you some of the apps that I use and as well as my thoughts on them.

runkeepersource

RunKeeper  is by far my most favorite fitness app and the one that I use more than any other.  In the summer, I use it to track my mileage (either running or biking) with it’s GPS feature.  You can set it to coach you along the way, keep you on pace, and to tell you how far you have gone.  I have mine set to chime in every 1/2 mile so that I can keep track of my mileage.  It also plays your music from your phone which is very important for me while I am out running.  At the end of my run or bike ride, I can view not only what my average pace was, but what my pace was at each mile.  It also displays the route you took as well as any change in elevation.  It’s super cool!

When I am working out indoors, I can manually input the cardio that I did that day with the mileage that I logged and the time it took to do that “distance.”  Be sure to click on the ‘source’ link above to get even more information on this awesome app.

source

The Body Media Fit app works in conjunction with the Body Media Fit armband which means that you would need to be actively using the armband to make this app useful.  When I am wearing the arm band, I use this app to keep track of calorie intake as well as see how many steps I have taken and how much activity I have done throughout the day.  It is an easy way to see how you are doing, activity and food-wise, throughout the day which helps ensure you are meeting your daily goals.

source

Calorie count is by far, the best food journal/calorie counter that I have come across.  The best part is that it is super easy to navigate and track down the foods that you are looking for.  I will even use this app when I am not actively keeping track of everything I consume because there are times when I need to look up a certain food item just to see its nutritional information.

I haven’t used this app recently but looking at the new updates that they have done recently, I will probably check it out soon!

source

Paleo Central comes directly from our friends at Nerd Fitness.  Now, I do not eat Paleo by any sense of the word, but I do, however, have an ever-increasing interest in it.  With this app, you can check whether or not a food is considered Paleo.  It’s not rocket science but I can see how it would be very helpful for those that are trying out the Paleo lifestyle and are unsure of the foods that they should be eating.

This app is very new, so I suspect that there will be some exciting updates in the near future.

source

Fiteo is the newest app in my fitness arsenal.  I have only used it for a few days but pretty much, you take daily photos of areas of your body that you are trying to make improvements on.  The idea is that you compare your daily photos in a sort of time lapse manner and watch as all your hard work pays off.  I can see how this can be a great motivational tool especially as you start to see some changes and progress.

Question of the Day

What are some of your favorite fitness apps?  How have they helped (or not helped) you achieve your fitness goals?

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

