Skip to content

Final Christmas Present

January 9, 2013

Look-ey what I got in the mail today:

IMG_6520

I can’t wait to start reading this book.  I have been following Ben’s blog for quite some time now and it is truly inspirational — funny, charming, thought-provoking and truly inspirational.  Please, please, please check it out.  I would suggest going back to the very beginning of his blog and starting there to get the entire story of his weight loss journey and the beginning of his Do Life movement.

Dinner 1.8.2013

Last nights dinner came out of the slow cooker and is one of our favorites around here:

IMG_6510Slow Cooker Red Beans and Rice

We couldn’t find andouille sausage which the recipe calls for so we used hot reindeer sausage instead and I have to say that I like the reindeer sausage better!  If you would like this super simple and hearty recipe that leaves you with TONS of leftovers, let me know.  I would be happy to share it with you all.

Workout 1.9.2013

I had an early morning chiropractor appointment (thank goodness!!) so I did a quick at-home circuit workout.  I am babying my hamstrings a little today so I focused on my abs and arms.  Here is what I did:

absandarms

So for this circuit, you complete 3 rounds of each set of 3 exercises.  I used a set of 15 pound dumbbells for this circuit — not too heavy but enough to get some muscle fatigue going.  This entire circuit took me just about 30 minutes.

After a nice hot shower, I took about 20 minutes to roll out my calves, hams (ouch!), hips, and IT band on the foam roller (have i mentioned how much i loathe that thing?)  I figure I should be a little nicer to my muscles and take the time to stretch and roll them out so that they don’t turn on me like they did on Tuesday.  I’m getting smarter by the day!

The rest of the day was spent running all over town with errands and appointments, coaching, and studying my PT book.

Dinner 1.9.2013

Neither Joe nor I had any desire to cook dinner tonight so I ate some salad topped with avocado, tomato, red peppers, and a home-made oil and vinegar dressing.  It took some convincing to tell my brain that, due to the big lunch that I had, this salad would be enough to satiate my hunger.  Everything in my body was trying to say that I was still hungry but I waited it out and sure enough, about 30 minutes later, I am not at all hungry.

This is enough:

IMG_6513I just need to give myself enough time to realize that.

Well I am going to get back to studying so this is where I am leaving you.  Don’t worry, I will be back tomorrow — I hope you will be too!

Question of the Day:

What steps do you take to make sure that you eat just enough to satiate?  How do you put the brakes on and keep yourself from over eating?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

