Skip to content

And in other exciting news….

December 27, 2012

The holiday hangover has set in around here.  Not at all alcohol-induced, rather, too many late nights, too many big meals, too many social events.  Even Sadie was having a hard time getting out of bed this morning:

IMG_6458“Please, no pictures.”

That is how I was feeling this morning as well, except some of us have to pay the bills around here and don’t have the luxury of lounging all day.  Apparently I am jealous of my dog.

Sigh.

It never gets dull around here!

I have found that the cure for the holiday hangover is to get right back on schedule and to get back to work.  I have been needing to work actually — I have been so busy with all things Christmas related that work has been piling up around me.  I find it strange that I was actually looking forward to getting some work done today.  What have I become?

Workout 12.26.2012

I needed to sweat today.

I needed to get my heart pounding and my breathing ragged.

The hectic last few days have left me feeling a little rattled and I needed to take a little time to pedal, run, and climb my way back to equilibrium.  So, that is exactly what I did today — 60 minutes of cardio that went like this:

20 minutes stationary bike

20 minutes running on treadmill

20 minutes step mill

My face was slicked with sweat, my mouth gaping to catch every last shred of air.  It wasn’t the hardest I have ever worked but it was exactly what I needed.  It was one of those days where I walked out of the gym feeling like I had accomplished exactly what I walked in the door to do.

Once I was home, I fixed myself another cup of coffee (with a dash of pumpkin flavored coffeemate for fun-sies) and spent about 20 minutes stretching.  This has quickly become one of my new favorite activities.  When I have the time, I like to stretch at home while watching the news and enjoying some hot coffee.  You may not know this about me, but stretching is not always my most favorite activity.  I guess the coffee is a way of bribing myself to take the time to stretch and you know what, it works every time!

So, the exciting news.  I received an early Christmas present this year (well, a present I purchased for myself) and it arrived several days ago:

IMG_6393

IMG_6394

Yup, after several months of hesitating, questioning, and being very, very honest with myself, I finally purchased the National Academy of Sports Medicine personal training certification program.  It was a very big, scary step for me and I have a hard time explaining exactly why.  I may have to think on that one and go into more detail at a later date.

Either way, I cracked the book today and made it part way through the first assignment.  So far so good!

Dinner 12.26.2012

Spaghetti is, without a doubt, my most favorite food.  A trained monkey could throw noodles and sauce together, call it spaghetti, and I am sure that I would enjoy every last bite.  I have been craving the meat sauce and noodle combination lately and I finally got around to making it for dinner:

IMG_6463

I am pretty happy with that portion size — normally, I would pile my plate sky-high with noodles and drench the entire thing in sauce.  Old habits die hard but this was a step in the right direction.  Pat on the back for me!

I also opened one of the bottles of wine that Joe got me for Christmas.  As I was unwrapping this bottle (story goes a co-worker suggested this wine) he told me not to read anything into the label.  I will let you be the judge of that:

IMG_6462Umm humm!!

Well, 5am is going to come pretty early so this is it for me.

Goodnight, pals!

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

