Skip to content

Overnight Oats and Quick Treadmill Circuit

December 18, 2012

Dinner 12.17.2012

Last night, Joe and I had dinner with a small group of friends at a local Japanese restaurant.  The frigid weather was telling me it was time for some soup.  I ordered the tempura udon which, in case you don’t know, is a gi-normous bowl of broth, big fat udon noodles, and some tempura veggies and shrimp.  I failed to take a picture of this hearty bowl of awesomeness, but it looked something like is:

airportudon_2Photo Source

Oh, it was so good and exactly what I needed to warm up a little.

For breakfast this morning I had my usual PB toast (though I did use cashew butter which I am really becoming a fan of!) as well as a bowl of overnight oats that I prepared last night before bed.  It has been far too long since I have had overnight oats — it is definitely one of my favorite breakfast foods.  The recipe I use is the one over at Peanut Butter Fingers.  You can find her recipe here.

Workout 12.18.2012 (Oh my heck — 1 week away!)

5am came extra early this morning.  I still managed to get to the gym before the cross training class and spend a little time with my friend, Mr. Treadmill.  I only had 15 minutes so here is what I did:

treadmill5

I am thinking that when I have more time, I will expand on this circuit and perhaps do 3 or 4 rounds of it with some walking breaks built in.  It should be a good workout.

The cross training class was a delight as usual (I am pretty sure that I mean that in the most non-sarcastic way possible).  We laid out 9 different stations of weights, a Bosu, some kettle bells, and barbells.  We did 1 minute at a station, rotate/rest for 30 seconds, and then do 1 minute at the next station.  We did 3 rounds of this.  This was pretty good workout because we did some exercises that I had never done before — and believe you me, I will be adding them in to my usual workouts from here on out!

Lunch 12.18.2012 (i already said it but….Only 1 Week Left!!)

I worked this morning and then ran some errands before heading home for lunch and to let Sadie out.  I was pretty hungry and didn’t want to take the time to make anything so I threw together a few handfuls of baby spinach, 2 hard boiled eggs, and some blue cheese vinaigrette dressing and called it a salad:

IMG_1165

Nothing too fancy, but still tasty.  This probably won’t be enough food to keep me full until dinner so I am going to have plan a healthy snack for myself for a few hours down the road.

Even though it is still in the negative degrees, I can’t keep Sadie inside any longer.  Wish us luck as we brave the cold in the name of doggy exercise!!

 

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

