Skip to content

Walking in a winter wonderland.

December 10, 2012

It finally warmed up enough to snow here.  Sounds sort of backwards, I realize, but that’s the truth.  For the last 2 weeks or so,it has been frigid cold in Anchorage.  We have all been watching the weather report hoping to hear a prediction that called for snow.  It finally arrived Saturday afternoon to the delight of many (even me which is surprising).  We went from temperatures in the low single digits (and some days in the negative degrees) to temperatures in the high 20’s and low 30’s.  This “warmer” weather really makes the walks that I take Sadie on so much more pleasant.  Here is a picture from today’s walk:

IMG_1155

I’ll admit, it is beautiful out there.

Workout 12.10.2012

I am feeling all sorts of tight and sore after the cross training workout that I did yesterday.  What I find really unusual is that the bottoms of my feet are sore as well — that’s a new one for me!  I didn’t let that get in my way, though.  At the gym this morning I ran 3 miles on the treadmill which took me 25:21.  I used the first mile as a warm-up to shake out all the stiffness from the day before so I ran it at 6.5, the second mile I ran at a steady 7.0, and for the last mile I alternated minutes at 7.5 and 8.0.

After I was done on the treadmill, I spent 15 minutes on the stepmill (my old friend) at a steady 80 steps per minute.

It was a sweaty good time.

Instead of hopping in the shower the instant I got home, I changes out of my sweaty clothes, made myself a cup of coffee, and spent about 20 minutes doing some deep stretching and foam rolling.  I know that I should spend more time on flexibility so I am hoping to make that more of a priority in the future.

New Favorite Snack

Joe made this on a whim over the weekend and I immediately was hooked:

IMG_6374

Hummus of whole wheat toast.

Yumm!

Dinner 12.10.2012

It was another 8pm end-of-the-work-day for me so Joe was kind enough to have dinner ready when I got home:

IMG_6378

I am a meat-a-saurus and I love me some steak!! As you can clearly see, we also had potatoes and broccoli on the side.  It was spectacular!

Tomorrow morning is another day of the cross-training class at our gym.  I can only assume that it is going to just as tough (if not tougher) than the workouts we have already done.  I will let you know how it goes!

We are spending the rest of the evening catching up on Homeland and Dexter — I can’t believe there are only 2 episodes left!!!

Goodnight!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca permalink
    December 11, 2012 8:34 am

    Really love following your blog! The workouts and food ideas are great, since I’m not a very creative person.

    The snow in Alaska has been a WONDERFUL blessing! (Especially with the warm weather that came with it…but also means winter storms…booo)

    Do you mind telling me which gym you go to? (Not a stalker, promise!) I work in Anchorage and have been having a heck of a time, debating whether to join one, and then which one to choose!

    • December 11, 2012 1:06 pm

      Hi Rebecca, good to hear from you again!

      I actually have memberships to two gyms. Let me explain.
      I have had a membership to the Alaska Club since I was a kid. I have held on to that membership because I appreciate how many locations they have around town as well as access to a swimming pool (I don’t use it often, but I like knowing it’s there.) There is an AK Club very close to where I live so if I need to sneak in a quick workout and still have time to go home for a shower, I will go there.
      That being said, I have always thought that they are rather expensive not to mention that you have to pay extra to attend some group classes. That seems crazy to me.
      Also, I sort of feel like the place is rather snooty (yeah, I said it) and I really don’t feel part of a community when I walk in the door.
      I do like their cardio equipment, though. I’ll give them that!
      The other gym that I go to is Body Renew and I absolutely love it there! It’s $34 a month (I’m pretty sure), they have great classes and the people there are super nice. I always tell people to try BR when they are searching for a gym.
      I know that they offer 3-day free passes for people that are interested in joining so you should definitely check it out.
      The cross-training boot camp that I have been doing recently is at BR. It’s killer but a great workout.
      I hope that helps you (and wasn’t an overload of information).
      Best wishes!

      • Rebecca permalink
        December 12, 2012 11:32 am

        Thanks for the advice!

        I had a chance to check out Alaska Club, and although it is a really nice high quality gym…high quality is a little out of the budget right now. Although having access to a pool would be wonderful (I love swimming).

        Thanks for the advice, I will have to check out Body Renew!

Trackbacks

  1. Crazy Day! « Run.It.Out

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

