Skip to content

Return of the AMRAP

December 9, 2012

Hey guys, I hope your Saturday is going well!!

I was up pretty early for a Saturday morning so that I could get a workout in before and all day gymnastics competition that I was coaching at.

Workout 12.8.2012

Quite a while back, I had sworn off AMRAP (as many rounds as possible) workouts because what once had really pushed my workouts to the next level had suddenly become a bore.  I was no longer thrilled to do them and excited for the on-going change of exercises, I now half-assed my way through them and spent more time eye-balling the clock than focusing on what I was supposed to be doing.

I figured enough time had passed, so I jotted down my workout and headed for the gym.

I started off with a 3.5 mile run which took me 29.27 minutes — pretty good for me I would say.  Then I completed this AMRAP:

AMRAP1

I used a 30 pound kettlebell for the Sumo Squat + Upright Row.  I managed to get through 4 rounds before the timer went off.  I was certainly happy with that.  The Burpee + Pull Up was something that I have been wanting to try for a while, but honestly have been a little scared of.  I figured today was as good of a day as any to take ’em for a spin and, guess what,  they weren’t nearly as difficult as I had built them up in my mind to be.  I think it has something to do with the momentum you have from the Burpee to the Pull Up gives you just a little bit of umph needed to get your chin above the bar.

I highly recommend you try them out — you’ll feel pretty B.A. when you are done with them!

After the competition I headed home and, unexpectedly passed out on the couch for about 40 minutes before Joe and I went up to my parents house for my Brother-In-Laws birthday dinner.

Joe made it to the cross training class this morning and snapped a picture of the days workout (which apparently was the worst one so far) and I plan on tackling it tomorrow morning!  Is it weird that I am looking forward to it?

It was a long day, but a good one.  The only real complain that I can make is that I think I ate my weight in peanut M&M’s while at the competition.  They are a weakness of mine and if they are in front of me I will eat them mindlessly until I am sick to my stomach.

Lame.

This is me saying goodnight!

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

