Skip to content

Not My Typical Workout

December 4, 2012

I arrived at the gym this morning at about 7:30am (a little later than I would have liked) and immediately hopped on the treadmill.  I noticed that there seemed to be a class going on in the group fitness room and my first thought was “crap!  I need to use that room for my circuit today.”  About 3 minutes into my usual 5 minute walking warm up, Nikki (the trainer who gave me some pointers the other day) came over and invited me to join a new class that was already in progress (yes, the same class I was just cursing!)

The class started at 7am so I joined them about 1/2 way through and I have to say that I am a little grateful that I was late — holy buckets, this class was killer!!!  It was a circuit that she so lovingly named “12 Days of Christmas.”  It was a list of 12 exercises where you would complete exercise #1, then move down the list to exercise #2 + exercise #1, then down the list to exercise #3 + #2 + #1 and on and on like this until you get to exercise #12.

Some of the exercises included thrusters, squat jumps, burpees, Turkish get ups, lunges, and push ups (to name a few.)

Joe arrived about 10 minutes after I did and Nikki nabbed him too!  We were both sweating like crazy when the workout was done.  I think this class is going to have to be a regular part of our week.  I loved it!!

After the workout was over, I went back to the treadmill to get some sprint intervals done.  I figured I was already pretty worn out so I only did 20 minutes of running.  Here is how it went:

treadmill3

After the circuit workout and these crazy sprints, I was definitely needing a shower.

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

