Skip to content

Another Crock Pot Recipe

October 13, 2012

Well, not so much a recipe — more like a link to a recipe.

Dinner 10/11/2012

It has been busy around here so I made sure to plan dinners ahead of time and to include some easy crock pot recipes.  Last night we had Slow Cooker Bolognese over linguini pasta and it was so so good.  Just look at it and tell my you aren’t wanting a heaping serving of that:

Looking at that picture all that comes to mind is, “Holy lack of portion control, Batman!”  I would have to say that portion control is most likely the number one problem that I continually struggle with on a daily basis.  I find that certain foods set me off — my “trigger food” if you will.  Spaghetti is undeniably one of my trigger foods.  So, yeah, I kind of over did it with this meal — I will have to be better about it in the future.

You can find a link to this recipe here.

A few notes on this recipe:

1) the recipe calls for 1 pound of Italian sausage.  I, trying to be the good fiance that I am, bought spicy Italian sausage because Joe likes spicy food (me, not so much).  Well, the sauce came out ok with the spicy sausage but I probably won’t be doing that again.  Sorry, Joe.

2) the recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of sugar but I do not like sweet meat sauces so I only used 1 tablespoon.  Next time I am going to omit the sugar all together because it still came out slightly sweet.  I like my meat sauces to be bold, rich and tomato-ey so the sweetness of even 1 tablespoon of sugar was too much for me.

3) the recipe calls for fennel seed which I didn’t have on hand.  I can’t say that we missed it because I don’t think I even know what it is.

Again, another super simple crock pot recipe that I fully recommend that you try it out.  It’s a win!

Workout 10/12/2012

I spent 60 minutes at the gym this morning busting out some cardio.  Here is what I did:

15 minutes stationary bike

15 minutes running on treadmill

15 minutes elliptical

15 minutes step mill

A laid back workout but still a good-un.

After the gym tomorrow morning I am going to check out a local Crossfit competition and I am beyond excited.  I am looking forward to watching the competitors give it there all and I know that it will be exhilarating and motivating for me.  I will be sure to give a full report tomorrow.

Goodnight, all!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

