Skip to content

Slowly but surely….

October 8, 2012

…..don’t call me Shirley.

Happy Sunday, everyone.
I hope your weekend is proving to be a productive one.  Mine, well like I always say, there aren’t enough hours in the day!

At the gym this morning I decided I was going to do 30 minutes on the treadmill some of which was going to be running.  I am feeling quite a but better though I’ve still got some gunk in my lungs and a pretty decent cough.

I finally broke down and tried Mucinex yesterday in hopes of getting rid of all this congestion and getting back to being able to breathe like a normal person.

I took the pill, drank a ton of water, surrounded myself with kleenex boxes and waited.

And waited.

And, I am sad to report not a whole lot of anything happened.  I guess I was expecting some severe, nasty drainage (I actually suggested that Joe leave the house as he probably didn’t what to see me like that — he stuck it out though) and to then be cured.

Yeah, naive I know.

So yeah, nothing really happened though I do feel a little better than I have the last few days.  I guess there is something to be said for the placebo effect.

So, back to the gym (how did we get so off track?).

Workout 10/7/2012

I planned a 30 minute treadmill workout that was mostly incline walking with 1 minute intervals of jogging:

It felt really good to be running even though it was for a very brief amount of time.  I am slowly but surely getting back to normal.

After I was done on the treadmill, I did a WOD (workout of the day) from the website of a local Crossfit box here in Anchorage.

Have I confessed my undying adoration of Crossfit yet?

No?

I love Crossfit — I want to do it so bad.  If money were of no concern I would do it all the time!

Alas, we all live under a budget, right?

I know I will eventually get to a place where I can try it out and hopefully make it a regular part of my fitness regimen.

Here is the link to that workout.  I realize, depending on when you click that link, the WOD might be different so just to be clear I did the “Gone Overboard” workout dated 10/6/2012.

I did the workout as it is listed and completed 2, sometimes 3 rounds (depending on the set of exercises) before 3 minutes was up.

This was a great workout though I could tell I was still pretty worn out from yesterdays workout.

Brunch 10/7/2012

Joe treated me to brunch today though I think it was just a clever ploy to go to one of his favorite breakfast places, Hot Stixx.

I think I have said this before but breakfast is my favorite meal of the day — the bottomless coffee, the protein packed eggs, fresh breads with yummy jam, refreshing fruit that is already cut up for you….just can’t beat it!

9 times out of 10 I make decent choices and stick with eggs, fruit and toast.  Well today was a 1 time out of 10 because I decided on sourdough french toast with a side of scrambled eggs (gotta have some protein after all).

Now a couple of things to note here:

1) There was no way I was going to eat all that — Joe had to finish it for me.

2) Who would ever need that much butter?

So this meal was definitely a bit of a splurge for me and I don’t regret it one bit!

Tonight I am seeing Shrek: The Musical with my family and I have to say that I am pretty skeptical.  I am sure that the costumes and sets are going to be amazing but really, how good of a show can this actually be?  I liked the movie, well the first one, but I never once thought, “Holy balls!  This movie is so great they should make it into a Broadway musical!!”  But apparently some one thought that though it does seem like they will make a musical out of anything these days.

I will let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

