Skip to content

Chili For Dinner, yo!

October 5, 2012
tags: ,

I was pretty darn happy with dinner last night so I feel the need to share it with you all.

Dinner 10/5/2012

I am trying to be a little more proactive about our dinner choices so that Joe and I don’t get home, stare at the fridge for 10 minutes wondering what to cook, and eventually settle on cereal or some other quick and less than nutritious dinner option.  I knew several days ago that I was going to make chili tonight so I had everything ready when I got home.

I have started using a new chili mix which I absolutely love.  It is called Carroll Shelby’s Original Texas Chili Kit and I find it right next to all the other seasoning packets at the grocery store.  That wondrous box contains several small packets of seasoning so that you can customize your chili to some extent.

For example, there is a small packet of cayenne pepper that I tend to add only half of — Joe likes it spicy and I try to be accommodating to such a  point that I can still enjoy my meal.  There is also a packet of a spice called masa that I don’t use at all because it causes the chili to be too thick and gloppy.

Not pictured here are all the fresh ingredients (they were already simmering) and the ground beef.

I was in a hurry to get started to I managed to destroy the spice box before I had a chance to nab a picture of it.

In a large pot I browned very lean ground beef while I cut up an onion and several green peppers which then got added to the pot.

Once the meat was cooked through, I added the seasoning packets, 2 cans of beans and 1 can of diced tomatoes (pictured above.)  I also added 1.5 fresh tomatoes and a little bit of water to the mix.

I let all that simmer together for about 15 minutes and then it was ready to serve!

The only cheese we had in the house was mozzarella — it worked just fine.

What made this chili stand out for me was I swear I could taste the fresh ingredients.  In the past, because much of the ingredients comes from cans and boxes, chili will often be kind of bleh — nothing really to write home about.  But this time, with the addition of some fresh produce, this chili was amaze-balls.

I don’t think I will ever go back!

I am also thinking that I will try fresh beans next time…WHAT!!??

Ok, I might be a little over my head here but I am willing to try.

Alright, I am off to the gym.

Peace out!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

