Skip to content

On The Mend.

October 4, 2012

In spite of a long night of hacking and coughing I woke up feeling so much better.  I am kicking this flu to the curb! (do people still say that? can one still be kicked to be curb, per say?)

I had a busy morning planned so I knew I would not be making it to the gym.  I came across 2 different workouts from 2 different blogs that I read, mashed them together and came up with a really good, full body workout.

Workout 10/3/2012

The first workout came from Peanut Butter Fingers and was a great upper body workout.  Here it is.  I used either 10, 15 or 20 pound dumbbells for this workout depending on the exercise.

The second workout is all about the legs and comes from Blonde Ponytail.  You can find it here.  I used a 15 pound dumbbell for the Sumo Squat Row.  The next time I do this workout, I will add another round because it seemed to be over too quickly.

Definitely check these workouts out, they were great for an at-home workout and I know I will be doing these ones again.

On a random note:

Garden Haul:

So after the first snow fall (It didn’t stick around for long, thank God) Joe and I rushed over to the garden to harvest everything we could.

As you can see we came away with a lot of potatoes (the white potatoes came from another persons garden plot — they told us to grab them because they had had their fill).

We also came away with a few carrots and some leafy greens.   I’m pretty happy with our garden this year and already have plans for what to plant next year.

Dinner:

A few nights ago I cooked up some fresh, spinach pasta that we received in our Full Circle Farm box.  I have never had fresh pasta like this and the taste and texture were amazing.  I didn’t want to drown out the flavor of the pasta with a heavy sauce so I simply tossed the pasta with some butter, garlic and parmesan cheese.  I also roasted some vegetables to have on the side.  It was a great meal!

Wedding Gift:

Sorry, the pics are a little blurry. I took these pictures in the car because we were running late and rushing to get to the wedding.

Joe and I attended a dear friends wedding a few weeks ago.  The couple didn’t register anywhere because they figured they had plenty of home items already.  Joe and I still wanted to get them a little something so we decided to put together a few gift cards to various places around town where they could go on dates together.  We bought gift cards to local movie theatres, restaurants, ice cream parlors and coffee shops.  I picked up a wooden box from Jo-Ann’s, painted and decorated it so as to have something fancy to put the gift cards in .  I also added a hand written note of love and congratulations to the happy couple for a personal touch.

Workout Tracking:

I have previously mentioned, rather sheepishly, that I keep track of my workouts by placing stickers on my calendar at home — no, I am not still in kindergarten.  I have found that having a visual record of my daily workouts really keeps me motivated — I even get a little hint of pride with every sticker that I place on there.  Hey, whatever works, right?

Here is September:

And October is shaping up nicely:

And lastly:

She’s so precious and adorable when she’s sleeping.  When….

Tomorrow I plan on being back in the gym and bringing my A-game.  Looking forward to it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

