Skip to content

It Was a Lovely Run….WAS!

August 29, 2012

Well, it’s official.

No amount of denying or ignoring is going to keep it at bay.

Fall is here in Alaska.

Don’t get me wrong, the scenery is beautiful but I know that just around the corner lurks winter.  Nooooooooo.

Workout 8/29/2012

I ran another 6 miles this morning in 53:40.  I was feeling pretty good the whole time and for the most part it was an easy run.

I was about 1.5 miles away from home when my neck instantly felt like it was on fire.  I thought my cheapo ear buds were malfunctioning and had either shocked me or had somehow caught on fire (ridiculous I know).  As I am ripping them out of my ears I realize the ear buds are not the cause.  It eventually hit me that I had just been stung by a bee!

I hadn’t been stung by a bee since I was about 8 years old and, holy balls, I forgot how much it hurts!  As I mentioned I was 1.5 miles away from home so I started hauling ass to get there. My anger at being stung really fueled those 1.5 miles and I got there in record time.

I wasn’t allergic to bees as a kid but I wasn’t allergic to anything as a kid and as I have gotten older I have developed lots of allergies.  As I was making my way home I started to run through a mental checklist of allergy symptoms.

Chest Tightness?  I’m running at record speed, of course my lungs are burning!

Wheezing? Heck yes I’m wheezing, Usain Bolt couldn’t catch me right now!

Dizzy?  Once again, I’m high-tailing it so yes, I’m a little dizzy!

I managed to get home without kicking the bucket and I have benadryl at the ready in case anything changes.  I am pretty sure I’m going to live.

I have quite a bit on my to-do  list before I head to work but I am hoping that I will get a quick at home circuit workout done some time today.

I will keep you posted.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

