Skip to content

When Dinner Doesn’t Go The Way I Want It To

August 12, 2012

Dinner last night was a bust.  Apparently there were no shrimp to be had in the town of Anchorage.  Unfortunately we settled on a take-and-bake pizza from Costco.

I know, I know.

That’s two, count ’em two, unhealthy dinners in as many days.  Don’t think I didn’t notice.

I have two options here 1) beat myself up over it and chastise myself at the gym or 2) accept it and move on.

I am planning on going with option 2.

I have learned from past experience that when I dwell on eating indiscretions and punish myself with a really difficult workout I end up resenting the gym and resenting myself.

In danger of using a cliche, it is a vicious cycle.

I have accepted it for what it is and I will do my best not to waste one more second worrying about it.

I stress ‘do my best.’

Breakfast

Breakfast this morning was my usual slice of peanut butter toast as well as a this delightful bowl of overnight oats:

Feast your eyes on that!  Just knowing that I have some overnight oats just a few steps away in the fridge makes getting out of bed in the morning a little bit easier.

To this batch I added honey, blueberries, strawberries and rice milk.  It was a great way to start the day.

Workout 8/11/12

For a Saturday morning the gym certainly was a happening place.  I am not sure why there were so many people there this morning — perhaps the Olympics have inspired people to get fit!  Nothing wrong with that, I say.

I started my workout with 50 minutes on the treadmill.  I didn’t do intervals but I did vary the speed every five minutes to keep myself entertained (HGTV helped a lot too — ain’t no shame in my game.)

Here is what I did on the treadmill:

0-5 walking warm up

5-10 run 6.0

10-15 run 6.4

15-20 run 6.2

20-25 run 6.6

25-30 walk 4.0

30-35 run 7.0

35-40 run 7.4

40-45 run 7.2

45-50 run 7.6

I certainly was huffing and puffing during those last 15 or so minutes.

After that I did 1 dead hang pullup and 5 (!) kipping pullups.

I finished up with a circuit workout that went a little something like this:

AMRAP in 20 minutes of the following:

Skaters with Single Leg Jump  10 each leg

Kettle Bell Swings  15

Toes to Bar  5

Walking  Pushups  1 pass

Air Squats  20

Plank to Pike on Exercise Ball 10

This circuit was brutal but I managed to complete 3 rounds.

Lunch

Both Joe and I were ravenous by the time we left the gym so we stopped at Subway (“Eat Fresh”) before we ran the days errands.

My favorite!

6-inch turkey on wheat with provolone cheese, lettuce, pickles, onions, yellow peppers, mustard and pepper.  Always a win!

Dinner tonight will certainly be amaze-balls!  We managed to find shrimp while we were out today so at this very moment Joe is stuffing them with jalapenos and a little cheese.  Next he will wrap them in bacon, skewer them and then put them on the grill.  A friend suggested we grill them this way so hopefully they turn out well.

The rest of dinner is sure to be great also — more on that later tonight or tomorrow.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

Train Like An Athlete

