Skip to content

It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown!

November 1, 2012

I was going to say “Happy Halloween” but I figured everyone and their Grandmother had probably already done that so I went with what I know!

Dinner 10.30.2012

It seems like it has been a while since I shared a dinner so here is what we had last night:

Rosemary and roasted garlic chicken and squash.

While shopping for some quick dinner items last week, I came across these Kraft Fresh Take mixes:

Basically these mixes come with 2 pouches, one with cheese and one with seasoned bread crumbs.  You mix the 2 together, add your meat of choice (mine what chicken) and shake until completely coated.

You then bake in the oven according to the package directions until cooked thoroughly.

I also baked an acorn (?) squash by cutting it in half, scooping out the seeds and adding butter, cinnamon, sugar and cloves.

I baked them for about 40 minutes at 375 degrees.

I have to say that I am a fan of these Kraft mixes.  The chicken was well seasoned and very tasty.  I will certainly be trying these again.

Please note: Kraft had nothing to do with this post.  I purchased the mix on a whim, enjoyed it thoroughly, and wanted to share it with you all.

Workout 10.31.2012

I was a little ADHD at the gym this morning.  I sort of bounced around several cardio machines without any real plan in mind.  I knew that I wanted to try some “sprints” on the step mill so that is what I started with.  I did this 20 minute step mill workout:

It was a sweaty 20 minutes!  I am kind of jazzed about more step mill intervals like this one in my future!

I then moved over to the elliptical where I did 10 minutes set at the “cross training” program.

After that, I finished up with 15 minutes on the stationary bike set at “random” on level 7.

Though scattered, this was — dare I say — a fun 45 minutes of cardio.

The Halloween Candy Quandary of 2012

As you well know, it is Halloween today.  While many Thors, princesses, and zombies are out gathering tricks and treats, I always find myself in a sort of a dilemma.

Let me back up a bit.

When I was 17, I started doing the grocery shopping for the family.  My parents worked very hard — still do, in fact — and it was just easier to send me to the grocery store with a blank check.  When Halloween time rolled around, I took complete advantage of my task and purchased all the Halloween candy I could ever desire!

What makes this whole story even better is that we never, not once in my entire time living at that house, had a trick-or-treater come knocking on our door.  I knew this was the case yet I convinced myself and my mother that, for whatever reason, that year was going to be different.  In all honesty, though, I just wanted an excuse to have a abundance of bite sized candy around the house for me to dip in to.

I have long since moved out of my parents house and have, obviously, begun shopping for myself.  I still have yet to have a trick-or-treater visit the places that I have lived since then, but for years I still convinced myself that I must have candy on hand.  You know, just in case.

Weeks ago, I decided this year was going to be different.  As the grocery store shelves began being loaded down with the sweets of the season, I was tempted to throw several of them in my cart among the fresh fruits and vegetables.  I did, however, manage to pass those aisles without a second glance and left the store with only the items that I truly needed.

I was finally, after all these years, honest with myself.  I didn’t need the candy for a variety of reasons.  One being I don’t need to have it in my home when all it will lead to is mindless indulgence.  And two, for crying out loud, get it through your thick skull, no one is coming to the door dressed in their Halloween finest!

It really is a small victory in the grand scheme of things but I see it as another small step in a huge, lifelong journey.  All it took was me being honest with myself and finally acknowledging the reality of the situation.

If you want another write up about the struggle that is Halloween candy as well as a few suggestions on how to tackle it wisely check out this post from Can You Stay For Dinner.  I have said it before and I will say it again, if you are even in need of some inspiration and some lovely writing, check out her story and her blog.  It really is a delight.

I hope everyone has a safe, happy, and healthy Halloween.  After today we are on the fast track to the holidays.  To quote Samuel L Jackson in Jurassic Park, “Hold onto your butts.”

Leave a Reply

redneckchefjeff

Cooking our Way Across the Country and Back!

Ben Does Life.

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Remy's World

One Step At A Time.

Mama Laughlin

One Step At A Time.

Peanut Butter Runner

Fit, Fueled and Fun

Inspired Fit Strong

One Step At A Time.

ashleyannphotography.com

One Step At A Time.

Blonde Ponytail

an athlete training for a lifetime of fitness

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

